Studies at AUEB

Undergraduate studies in the Departments of Athens University of Economics and Business follow the semester system and are carried out in accordance with the Undergraduate Programme of Studies that is drawn up by the General Meeting of each Department. Each academic year consists of two semesters, the winter semester and the spring semester. The duration of undergraduate studies is four years (eight semesters).

The courses taught in the winter semester start around the beginning of October and last for 13 weeks. Classes stop for two weeks during the Christmas and New Year’s holiday break – specifically, from December 23 to January 7 – and then resume. After the winter semester classes end, there is a three-week exam period in January-February.

The courses for the spring semester begin in the second half of February, following one free week, and they also last for 13 weeks. Classes stop for the Easter holiday break, from the Monday before Easter until the Sunday after, and then resume. Because Easter is not a fixed holiday, the exact dates of the Easter break vary from year to year. After spring semester classes end, there is a three-week exam period in June.

From the end of the June examinations until the end of the academic year (August 31), no classes are held. When the new academic year begins on September 1, there is a September exam period (re-sit exam period), which ends before the winter semester classes begin. The exact beginning and ending dates of the semesters and the exam periods are proposed by the University’s Studies Department, approved by the University Senate and announced in the academic calendar of the University.

Last updated: 4 September 2020