European Credit Transfer System (ECTS)

According to the European Commission, "the ECTS system allows credits taken at one higher education institution to be counted towards a qualification studied for at another. ECTS has been adopted by most of the countries in the European Higher Education Area as the national credit system and is increasingly used elsewhere. ECTS credits represent learning based on defined learning outcomes and their associated workload. It is a central tool in the Bologna Process, which aims to make national education systems more comparable internationally. ECTS also helps make other documents, such as the Diploma Supplement, clearer and easier to use in different countries."

AUEB has been a pioneer in the implementation of the ECTS System since its initial inception. The Department of Business Administration for example has started offering ECTS already in 1989, after having been selected by the European Commission, to participate in the ECTS Pilot Scheme. Experience and knowledge of the system has since been disseminated to all Departments of the University and appropriate use of the system is being made all these years.

All AUEB study programs offer courses for a total of 30 ECTS credits per semester, thus complying fully with the ECTS System. More specific information about ECTS can be located in the Student Handbooks of each study program, as well as inside Diploma Supplements.


Classic Mobility Program (within the EU):
     Mrs. Cleopatra Nteliou   +30 210 8203 188

International Mobility Program (outside the EU):
     Mrs. Elena Kanderaki   +30 210 8203 250



Last updated: 5 January 2021